New York City DWI Lawyers Help You Fight DWI Charges
Let us protect your driving privilege and your freedom
Today, most people understand the seriousness of a driving while intoxicated (DWI) arrest. If convicted of a first offense, you could face jail time, fines and a license suspension. We at Bernfeld, DeMatteo & Bernfeld, LLP realize that a DWI conviction can greatly affect your personal and professional life. In addition to representing many New Yorkers accused of drunk driving, our lawyers diligently remain up to date about changes to DWI laws. Upon taking your case, we can immediately explain your rights to you and begin devising a solid defense strategy to safeguard your future.
New York DWI Penalties
In New York, if you are 21 years of age or older with a blood alcohol content of .08 percent or higher while operating a motor vehicle, you will be arrested and charged with a DWI. Since drunk driving endangers the lives of everyone on the road, even first-time offenders are punished harshly. Following are the penalties for DWI charges in New York:
- First offense — For your first DWI offense, you could be sentenced to up to a year in jail and face between $500 and $1,000 in fines. In addition, you face a minimum six-month license suspension. You must also enroll in a mandatory alcohol screening and evaluation program.
- Second offense — Second-time offenders are charged with a Class E felony and may receive between five days and four years in prison or 30 days of community service. In addition, your license is suspended for a minimum of one year and you must pay between $1,000 and $5,000 in fines.
- Third offense - A third DWI offense is a Class D felony punishable by between 10 days and seven years in prison or 60 days of community service. Additionally, you must pay between $2,000 and $10,000 in fines, and your license will be suspended for one year.
You may also be required to have an ignition interlock device installed and/or complete an alcohol assessment program. After being arrested for a DWI, your first call should be to a criminal defense attorney who has experience handling state crimes, misdemeanors and felonies. We can rush to your side, protect your rights and help you combat the charges.
Seek DWI advice from an experienced attorney
The attorneys at Bernfeld, DeMatteo & Bernfeld, LLP have 45 years of combined legal experience. You can arrange a free consultation to discuss your case with a lawyer at our firm by calling us at 646-880-4689 or contacting us online.